RSS

Fishing With Spammers!

22 Oct


Just a quick note here to let everyone know who stops by and who regularly reads my blog that “Spammers” have been busy swarming in and around my blog over the last few days. It has taken some effort to get all the junk out and secure the blog, but, I think I have it back to order.

One effect that it will have on those who leave comments on my posts is that I will be approving your comment before it gets posted. I had held out on doing this type of thing for some time, as approving comments mean they are posted sometime later than “Live”. I always liked the instantaneous ability to comment back and forth with those left comments. But, alas, I have changed the way the commenting will be updated, so that my posts are not inundated with everyone who wants to get “free” advertising by making annoying comments and mis-guided efforts at plugging their marketing product. Hope all my readers will continue to post and I will get your comments up as soon as they have passed through my quality assurance for my blog.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2009 in Blog News, Quick Casts

 

10 responses to “Fishing With Spammers!

  1. troutrageous1

    October 22, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Hey Mel, nothing wrong with screening your comments first. I had something similar happen on my blog, but sounds like yours was on a much larger scale. The only Spam I like is served with eggs.

     
  2. Shoreman

    October 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Hey Mel. Always someone that has to screw things up. Kind of like that Yahoo on OBS. Mark

     
  3. Mel

    October 22, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Troutrageous1 – Thanks for understanding. I notice that a lot of the blogs I visit have also began moderating comments. Only way to keep the blog a pleasing place to be.

     
  4. Mel

    October 22, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Shoreman – That is hitting the nail on the head! Thanks for supporting me.

     
  5. Fish Whisperer

    October 23, 2009 at 11:36 am

    It happened to me to. Not to worry, we shall keep coming here for more.Tight lines

     
  6. TackleBoxTalk

    October 23, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Hey Mel, sorry to hear about your spammers. I don't blame you for moderating your comments, I haven't decided whether or not I'll moderate comments on my blog, after reading about it here, I am reconsidering.

     
  7. Othmar Vohringer

    October 26, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    O think at one or another time every blogger has to deal with this issue. A year ago I had every single day a dozen or so spam comments and then it stopped as suddenly as it started.-ov-

     
  8. Mel

    October 27, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    It's funny, Othmar, since I changed to moderating my comments, I have not had a single spammer. I guess it goes in cycles. Thanks for the comment.

     
  9. Sherri Russell

    October 28, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Mel, they seem to target the more better blogs, such as yours. You have some great content. Keep writing!

     
  10. Mel

    October 28, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Thank you so much, Sherri, for your kind words about my blog and your encouragement to keep writing. I must say I look forward to continuing to develop my writing skills and my blog. I sure appreciate all my followers and readers of my blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
