RSS

Blogging & Product Reviews

10 Oct



I don’t very often use a post just to link to another online site in order for my readers to get information that is of importance to the blogging world, but, in this case I would like to offer this link for all of my fellow bloggers to check out since it may have an impact on your individual blogging perspectives as far as posting product reviews go for the future. (The soon future!)

Any comments or thoughts are appreciated at Idaho Fishing Notebook.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2009 in Blog News

 

7 responses to “Blogging & Product Reviews

  1. Ben G.

    October 12, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Mel, Thanks for the info. I'll have to look a bit deeper into this b4 I do any more reviews.

     
  2. Mel

    October 12, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    As I read it Ben, I think if one uses a little common sense when they write their post and gives credit where credit is due, I think we normally should be o.k. But, we'll see!I am an honest reviewer and I will let my readers know if a product doesn't work for me and my style. Also, I have no problem returning a product to someone who has asked for a review to be done if I am unhappy with it's quality.

     
  3. Shai

    October 14, 2009 at 8:27 am

    As a business owner with products to promote I would absolutely prefer for any product reviewers I solicit to disclose everything about the transaction anyway. If readers don't trust the blogger why would they trust the product? I don't see any reason for this to deter bloggers from accepting products for reviews, and if it deters fake blogs and tricky marketing campaigns then that can only be a good thing IMO.

     
  4. The Rabid Outdoorsman

    October 14, 2009 at 9:17 am

    My question is how do the feds expect to enforce something like this?

     
  5. Mel

    October 14, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Shai – First and foremost, welcome to my blog and thanks for leaving a thought provoking comment. By the way, I added your blog link to my BlogBuddies Blogroll. Hopefully, we can share some readers. I agree, wholeheartedly with your comment. Readers aren't going to read my review, good or bad, if they don't trust my words and ethics. Most conscientious bloggers should be fine.

     
  6. Mel

    October 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    The Rabid Outdoorsman – You got me. Working in some contact with the government over the years, I know that laws and rules are always being added or modified. Providing some sort of Quality Assurance for the new law will be cumbersome.

     
  7. Othmar Vohringer

    October 21, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I read about this new ludicrous regulation on Kristine's blog. I only can repeat what I commented on there."While I personally find it part of my ethical standard to disclose if I have received compensation of any kind to review a product. I am upset, and that is putting it very politely, that the FTC makes a specific rule about this. Every time we turn around there are a few more rules forced on us by government agencies that believe that they have to regulate every oh so little aspect of our lives."

     

Leave a Reply

 
