RSS

Taking The "Old Guy" Oath

08 Oct

Well another year has come and gone. On Tuesday, I turned (60) years old and my family had me take an “Old Guy” Oath before we had treats and presents. It goes something like this:

“Raise your right hand and repeat the following. I, Mel Moore, being of questionable mind and aging body, do solemnly declare my self an Old Guy. Therefore, I am permitted to

#1. Scratch my butt in public

2. Drive forever with my left blinker on

3. Pass gas while standing in line at Wal-Mart

4. Jabber incoherently on my blog

5. Snore like a chainsaw

6. Fall asleep with absolutely no warning

You gotta’ love it. It started me to thinking about where I am going with this “age” and “sound mind” scenario. I looked around and came across this video that pretty well sums it up I think. Hope you enjoy it and I hope I can remember to go fishing.





 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2009 in Quick Casts

 

9 responses to “Taking The "Old Guy" Oath

  1. The Hunter's Wife

    October 9, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Oh heavens. After your oath…not sure I want to go fishing with you. lol Hope you enjoyed your birthday!

     
  2. Rick Kratzke

    October 9, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Mel, first I want to say Happy Birthday.That was some sort of oath, well put. That should do just fine and it also allows you to be a little forgetful too.

     
  3. troutrageous1

    October 9, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Just think, in 30 years most of my proudest behaviors will become permissible!Very funny post – happy birthday Mel.

     
  4. Fish Whisperer

    October 9, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Mel I am 41 and it looks like I took the oath a few years back. Happy B'dayTight lines

     
  5. Bill Anderson

    October 9, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Happy Birthday!

     
  6. Savage Custom Rods

    October 9, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Good evening Mel! Thank you for stopping by and following my Blog – Savage Custom Rods. I would gladly consider putting up a blog roll and share links with you, but I am not sure how to go about doing that. I'm kinda new at this! If you could please explain to me what it is that you're talking about, or explain how to go about putting up a blog roll, I'd greatly appreciate it! Thank you again! Tight lines.

     
  7. Emily

    October 10, 2009 at 6:56 am

    That is hilarious! Although I don't think you have to wait until you are 60 to fart in line at Walmart. Happy Birthday Mel!

     
  8. Mark Dahlquist

    October 10, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Hey Mel – Happy belated birthday! Funny blog. I'm 37 and do all of those thing too. I actually make a point to pass gas at Walmart. Wife drags me there, least I can do is embarass her right? Say I like your header. Did you take that photo? Very cool.

     
  9. Mel

    October 10, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Thanks to all of you who dropped by and left comments and birthday wishes. I look forward to hearing from you all whenever you get a chance.Jody – You have to go fishing with me, it is the "one thing" that I have left to look forward too.Rick – Glad you liked the oath, and, I am a little forgetful!Troutrageous1 – Very funny comment. Looks like you will have lots of practice.Fish Whisperer – Glad to hear you got an early start. You will be an expert when your (60).Bill – Thanks for leaving a comment. You are welcome here anytime!Savage Custom Rods – Left some information in comment form over on your blog. Hopefully, it is helpful.Emily – Shoot, I didn't know that. I will head over there after lunch today and catch up.Mark – Now that is something I hadn't thought of doing. I will have to try that also. You will also be an expert by age (60). Yes, the photo is mine and getting it right took several attempts. Thanks for the comments on my header.

     

Leave a Reply

 
