RSS

Fishing Meadow Lake

04 Oct

At least a couple of times a year, I like to head to the high country and try my luck at fishing for trout from the high mountain lakes in my area. One of my favorites is Meadow Lake. This beautiful mountain lake sits at the base of a rock wall high up above just about everything else in the area. Located high in the timber above the old ghost town of Gilmore, Meadow Lake has been a favorite of mine and also of my parents long before me. My dad always said that if he could only fish one place in Idaho, his choice would be Meadow Lake. Not that it has incredible fishing, though it does feature some fun fishing for high mountain Rainbows, but more that it sets in such a spectacular setting. Truly, one of the more beautiful places I have ever laid eyes on.

This picture is taken from the shoreline at Meadow Lake. Notice the rock wall that sits to the rear of this photo. If you look closely at the rock wall that white stuff you see is “snow”. Higher up the rock wall is a lot more snow. This photo was taken in late July. Meadow Lake, I believe, may have the coldest water I have ever fished in. Float tubing it is something that you will never forget! You had better use some warm thermals underneath your neoprene waders if you want to stay warm. I found that out on one of my first trips to Meadow Lake years ago. I would also caution those who go out on to the lake in small boats. Please use your life preservers as this cold water will take it’s toll on anyone accidentally dumped into the lake without proper wear.


A twelve inch Rainbow is a good fish here. There are some bigger, but, for the most part the Rainbow’s are of the foot long variety. The shorter growing season in the high lakes limit food supply and growth. I like to fish here with Spoons or Spinners. Most of my fishing here is done from several spots along the wooded shoreline. Spoons help me cover more of the water, and, deeper parts of the lake.
I like to use Little Cleo’s, or, Thomas Buoyant spoons with some Silver or Gold coloring. Here are a few I use.

These are a couple of my favorite Little Cleo’s.

Thomas Buoyant Spoons I have had success with.

Here is a shot of one of the popular spots to fish from. Look closely and you will see your truly enjoying a day at Meadow Lake.

Actually, this is a pretty poor photo. You can hardly see a few of us fishing from the rock pile as we call it. Need a telephoto lens from where this was taken. By the way, Meadow Lake has a nice campground and picnic area close to shore and is usually quite popular during the dog days of late summer. The road up to the lake can be driven in regular two wheel drive, but, is a narrow mountain dirt road in spots so be careful. As a reminder, this is the land of awesome beauty. Please don’t litter and ruin the experience for others!


 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2009 in Fishing Eastern Idaho, Rainbow Trout

 

9 responses to “Fishing Meadow Lake

  1. Shoreman

    October 5, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Hey Mel. Beautiful Lake. You know it's high when you still have snow in July. Nothing more calming than fishing on a lake like this and, those high mountainlake Rainbows are much better than your basic stocker. Getting a little snow up your way?Mark

     
  2. troutrageous1

    October 5, 2009 at 9:35 am

    That looks like a pretty place. Water appears crystal clear. Any idea on how deep the lake is? Just wondering. Anyway, thanks for sharing this wonderful fishing location.

     
  3. Paul Steeve

    October 5, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    It seems like a lot of people are getting to trout fishing this Fall. Maybe I can have a successful bow season early on and have time to do a little Fall fishing. That is definitely a beautiful lake, though!

     
  4. Fish Whisperer

    October 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Mel, what a beautiful lake. Those high mountain rainbows a lovely fish.Tight lines

     
  5. Ben G.

    October 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Mel- What a great lake. I will put this one down as a must stop if I ever get out to Idaho again.

     
  6. Mel

    October 5, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Let's see if I can respond to each of you who have left comments on this post.Shoreman – Altitude at the lake is a little over 9000 feet so a lot of the year is pretty cool weather wise in the area. There is something about catching any trout out of a high mountain lake that makes it just a little better experience. Yes, snow has came over the past (24) hours to the Eastern Idaho area where I live!Troutrageous1 – The water in Meadow Lake "is" very clear. You can see into the depths of the lake and see fish swimming around. Makes for memorable experience as often times you can see the fish take at various depths. I am not quite sure on the depth of the lake. I will try and find that information.Paul – I wish you luck on your early season bow hunt. The fall fishing can be really good too! Hopefully, you will get to double up.Fish Whisperer – They are so beautiful. I think there coloring is bolder than the usual run of the mill Rainbow. I am glad you enjoyed the photo of the lake. I am not sure they did the lake justice.Ben G – Well, Ben, if you ever make it back out my way you won't regret the time you spend at Meadow Lake. The scenery, the fishing, the drive, it is all good for the soul.

     
  7. Othmar Vohringer

    October 5, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    That looks like a beautiful place Mel. Reminds me of some of our high country lakes. Crystal clear water, pristine wilderness, fresh air and snow caped mountains. What more does it take to make you feel like in paradise?The little gold and trout colored spoons are my favorites too for rainbows and work great. Since the salmon are spawning anything pink and small clusters of eggs arouse the trout here in my fishing area.-ov-

     
  8. CDGardens

    October 6, 2009 at 4:52 am

    I love the pictures of the lake. It looks like an inviting setting for a chance to fish for trout. 😉

     
  9. Wolfy

    October 6, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    That lake would be a favorite place to spend time even if it was barren – beautiful lake, Mel. And the fish just make it better.Wolfy

     

Leave a Reply

 
