RSS

Comes The Dawn Of My Blog

14 Sep

I am a little late in putting together this post, but, like they say better late than never. If you have made the outdoor blogging rounds lately, you will have noticed several of my fellow bloggers have written a post pertaining to a question that was raised by Kristine over at the Outdoor Bloggers Summit.

The question she put forth was a simple one. “Why Do You Blog?”
Seems like a simple question, right? Well, I wonder why it has taken me a couple of weeks to ponder on what kind of answer to give to all my blogging friends. I hope my answer here is a little different than the normal response one would expect. So, after much thought, it came to me in these words. I hope everyone will understand what I am trying to say. Here is my response.

“I don’t want anyone to hold my hand. I want to unchain my soul. I don’t want to lean on anyone. I am getting much to old for that. No contracts or promises here, just my own self made security. If I write something poorly on my blog or offend someone, I am man enough to accept that. As I write for this blog, I will hold my head up high and keep my eyes and ears open to the outdoor view and to the voices that relate to me.”

“I do not know what tomorrow might bring, so I can not write about the future. So it is my plan to plant my own garden and to decorate my own soul, instead of waiting for someone else to bring me flowers. I will be strong and I will endure and my blog really does have self worth.”

Thank you for reading and I hope that there is something here that my readers will give thought to and better understand who I am.

Mel

 
17 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2009 in Why I Blog?

 

17 responses to “Comes The Dawn Of My Blog

  1. troutrageous1

    September 14, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Eloquently put Mel. I'm sure lots of folks have different reasons for blogging – outlet for opinions, education, keeping up with family from afar, possibly even for financial or business gain. The thing I find most interesting, is that more than anything, blogs tend to evolve over time – meaning one thing in the beginning, but yet another only a few posts later. Seems you are true to your direction, and that's all that matters.

     
  2. Clif

    September 14, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Wonderfully done, I think I'll start with my "Mission Statement" soon.I've put some thought into this as well. What is interesting is that I would bet most people don't care why you (or I) blog. They simply come back because your words connect with them.My point is you would probably blog if no one read, but they do.

     
  3. Shoreman

    September 15, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Beautifully said. Like Troutrageous said, Blogs have a life of their own. One thing I can say, is that I've met a wonderful bunch of people out there in our blogging community and I'm thankful for their friendship. Keep up the good work, Mel. Mark

     
  4. Rick Kratzke

    September 15, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Mel, everyone has there own way of blogging and that is what makes all of us unique.Very nice post.

     
  5. CDGardens

    September 15, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    So glad you took Kristine up on the challenge of "Why do you blog"?It is true that some of us start out as one type of blog but change directions now and then.Thanks for keeping us in the know about activities going on in the world of the Idaho Fishing Notebook. 😉

     
  6. Kenny Breckenridge

    September 15, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Mel,a very touching response to why you blog, very original, and to be honest, you responded very much as I anticipated that you would! We have all made friends all over the blogosphere! Some friendships are closer than others but all very dear to us all! Mel, I value, our friendship very highly and I respect you and your opinion more than most, because you are more level headed than most, and you think long before you speak, which is a sign of great wisdom! Once again old friend , great post! I really connect with you and value as a friend and fellow blogger! Keep up the excellent work!

     
  7. Paul Steeve

    September 15, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    This is very poetic, and probably the best response I've read to the question. I especially like, "If I write something poorly on my blog or offend someone, I am man enough to accept that." Making an opinion public is a big thing, and accountability for it is great to see.

     
  8. Mel

    September 16, 2009 at 9:16 am

    For once, I am without words to respond. I am very humble after reading all of your comments. I was unsure what my feedback would be on this post, if any. Thank you all my BlogBuddies, you are appreciated more than you know.

     
  9. Wolfy

    September 17, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Kudos Mel – eloquently writtenWolfy

     
  10. The Hunter's Wife

    September 21, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Very nicely said Mel.

     
  11. Mel

    September 21, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Wolfy & Jody – Again, thank you so much for your uplifting comments about my post. I do look forward to your visits and comments and appreciate your support.

     
  12. The Fisherbabe

    September 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Just lovely to read Mel!!!LIZZY 🙂

     
  13. Catfishchic

    September 23, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Dear Mel,I enjoy reading your posts. I also enjoy your outlook on things. You have been a very supportive friend to me! You are willing to help others. I am certainly glad that you do blog! Keep up the good work, my friend.Happy Fishing!Catfishchic

     
  14. Mel

    September 23, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    FisherBabe – Glad you enjoyed it. I, truly, did not know where I was headed with this when I started to think about "Why I blog".

     
  15. Mel

    September 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    CatfishChic – It is so good to have you back blogging and commenting on my blog. I have enjoyed our blogging connection and friendship. Thank you for keeping me in your thoughts.

     
  16. Larry

    February 24, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    It felt really good reading your blog post about blogging and what it means to you. I feel much of what you feel and say in here. Nice to see you have lots of dedicated followers too. Great writing Mel. Keep Wrockin’ them words out…lb

     
  17. Mel

    February 25, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Larry – Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comment. We really do have a dedicated and supportive group of blogging friends who I value very much. Happy that my words in someway have impacted you and created some reflection on your part.

    Take care my friend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
