RSS

BENEFITS OF MY BLOGROLL!

27 Aug



As I have written about before, I have worked very hard to put together a top notch list of fellow bloggers who write about fishing, hunting, and time in the outdoors. This list is my BlogBuddies Blogroll located on the right side of my blog page.

I am constantly reviewing my fellow bloggers blogs, reading and learning as much as I can from them. I also try to frequently leave comments showing my appreciation and support for what they are doing with their blogs.

I also look at blog content and frequency of posting when I add a blog to my growing list of BlogBuddies. I want my readers to feel like I do. That they can go to these blog links and get new or fairly fresh content on subjects of their liking. If a blog becomes stagnant or isn’t updated fairly regularly then I will drop them from my list and look for others to replace them.

I really appreciate all of my fellow BlogBuddies efforts and have been rewarded by many of them with a reciprocal link to Idaho Fishing Notebook over on their blogs. Everyday readers come to my blog from my link posted on other blog sites. Sharing is what the blogroll is all about. It creates a sense of community and that is why I blog in the first place. That is just to share my thoughts and stories about time in the outdoors. I do it because I want to. I do not make any money off of my blog and don’t know if that will ever be something I look to do.

To be honest, I have also removed some links from my blogroll, not because of another blogger not posting frequently enough or posting topics that are not personally popular with me, but, because they have removed my link from their blogroll or otherwise informed me that they did not wish to exchange links with me. (That is a hard one for me to understand!) Certainly kicks the sense of community right in the stomach! Oh well ………………………………………………

To end on a positive note here, I will be adding a post tomorrow featuring a couple of my fellow bloggers and their well done blogs.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2009 in Blog News

 

15 responses to “BENEFITS OF MY BLOGROLL!

  1. troutrageous1

    August 27, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    It's funny how this blog stuff can multiply. I'm a subscriber to Len Harris' blog and saw your comment on his most recent post. Read a handful of posts and do enjoy your sense of humor – I think my feet shrink and grow as well.I'll be adding you to my blogroll. Feel free to check out my blog, it's somewhat about fishing. Feel free to link to it…no biggie if you don't.http://troutrageous.blogspot.com

     
  2. Wolfy

    August 27, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    It's sort of funny, Mel – a group of us (you, Kenny, Shoreman, LarryB, Wandering Owl, ..) all have each other as referred Blogroll people, but we all have others, too. Every so often I go into all of your Blogrolls to see new ones I might be missing – some I add to mine, some I don't. It's morphed into a little on-line community without ever having set out to become one! It truly is the best benefit that has happened to me that I didn't anticipate when I set out write my blog. The best things in life are the ones you DON'T expect!Wolfy

     
  3. Rick Kratzke

    August 27, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I completely understand what your doing, it makes sense. I will say I do look forward to your comments.

     
  4. Clif

    August 27, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    If they pass through Mel's filter, they'll find a cozy spot on my roll.Can't wait to see what you got Mel!

     
  5. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Troutrageous – Thanks for dropping in and reviewing my blog. Glad to know someone out there enjoys my sense of humor. Thanks for adding my link and joining Idaho Fishing Notebook. I have added your link this morning and joined your community. Looking forward to reading more of your posts. You are always welcome here.

     
  6. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Wolfy – I totally agree with you. Blogging is a great enjoyment for me, but, having a blogroll and getting to know others who have similar interests has been one of the most uplifting things for me. Hooray for our online communities!

     
  7. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Thanks, Rick, glad to know that we think alike here. Always look forward to reading your blog and leaving a comment.

     
  8. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Hey, Cliff, I'm fine with that approach. Hopefully, we can all share readers from our reciprocal links. Thanks for the encouragement.

     
  9. Fish Whisperer

    August 28, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Just before I came to your blog this morning I was reading another and was going to leave a comment when I noticed that after almost a year this person had not added my blog. So I did not leave a comment and was considering removing their blog from mine. After all I always tell people that I am adding them to my blog roll. It is so easy to do and yet I think these people get this mightier than thou idea in their head. After reading your post I think I will delete them. Too bad for them because we have a great group of people here.Tight lines

     
  10. Paul Steeve

    August 28, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I guess I've never really looked into creating a blogroll for myself. I normally just do my thing and hope others like what I have to say. I see how your blogroll has benefited you, however, and I think I might look into putting one on my page.

     
  11. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Fish Whisperer – I am glad I, at least, gave you the nudge to think about it. I am sure I would do the same thing as you intend to do. Reading and sharing and supporting your fellow bloggers who have similar interests is what makes the whole community thing work. Appreciate your comment.

     
  12. Mel

    August 28, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Paul – I would encourage you to do so. I bet you would be surprised what kind of positive effect it would have for you. You do have an outstanding blog so get that blog roll going. While your building one don't forget Idaho Fishing Notebook.

     
  13. Shoreman

    August 29, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Hey Mel. Like Wolfy said, this blog thing has a life of it's own. I'm glad to have so many friends out there. Mark

     
  14. Kenny Breckenridge

    August 30, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Good post Mel! I have a blogroll and add to it all the time and most of my time is spent keeping up with them, which I try to do on a daily basis. I am selective though and I usually make sure they exchange the link back with me! I think that it is only fair. And finally yes the traffic will in fact increase for all of our big community here, good writing Mel!

     
  15. Mel

    August 30, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Shoreman – Thanks for the comment. Blogging is very rewarding, and, I enjoy all who I have made friends with through our community efforts.Kenny – Thanks for the kind words. I agree with your opinion about linking with other bloggers. It is only fair since we are attempting to promote each others efforts. Collectively, is always better than one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
