RSS

RUNNIN’ ON FUMES

22 Aug

Just not enough time in the day it seems to take care of everything I need to do during the tail end of the dog days of August. I have had less time it seems this past couple of weeks to post as often as I should on my blog, and, to read up on what is going on with all my blogging friends on their blogs. I feel as if I am runnin’ a race that doesn’t seem to have a finish line.

Some work issues have occupied a lot of my time. (Guess that is to be expected when you are the boss, employee, and, chief janitor and bottle washer all wrapped into one.)

It is also the time of year when all the kids start getting registered to go back too school. (That means registration fees, school supplies, school clothes, etc.) I have (10) grandchildren and they all need my attention, too!

Sadly, I had an Uncle who I was fond of that passed away on Thursday evening from a battle with Pneumonia, and, something called “Nocardia”. We liked to talk fishing and joke around and I will miss that with Uncle Don. I am happy for him now that he has passed and will no longer suffer from the disease he had. It was a difficult struggle for him and he no longer needs to worry about runnin’ on fumes. He will grace God with his humor and tall tales of a nice fish just up around the corner on one of Heaven’s trout streams. Leave a few for me someday, Uncle Don!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2009 in Quick Casts

 

8 responses to “RUNNIN’ ON FUMES

  1. Shoreman

    August 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Hi Mel. My condolences. Tough to lose a relative especially one that you are close to. Don't run yourself too ragged my friend, because you need to stop and smell the roses, not grab one and smell it on the run. Mark

     
  2. Paul Steeve

    August 22, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    The days sure seem like they are getting shorter. I'm finding the same problem as you–I just can't get enough done.I'm sorry to hear about your uncle. It sounds like you have a lot on your plate, and the passing of a family member just tops it off. Try taking some time to relax.

     
  3. CDGardens

    August 22, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    I am very sorry to hear of the loss of your uncle. Hope the whirlwind of activities slows down for you soon. Take care…;)

     
  4. lralph

    August 24, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Sorry to hear about your uncle.I feel you on work, too much to do and not enough time or manpower. Good luck.

     
  5. sportfishingamericas

    August 25, 2009 at 4:54 am

    Mel, Nice tribute. We all have an "Uncle Don" and treasure the moments like those you shared.Keep your spirits up. Just remember there's a big one waiting for you out there and you've got that to look forward to. Best, JB

     
  6. Mel

    August 25, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Shoreman, Paul, CDGardens, LRalph, and JB – Thanks all for your support and uplifting comments. Each of you have helped me through a tough few days in your own individual way. Thanks for being my Blog Buddies!

     
  7. The Hunter's Wife

    August 25, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Oh Mel. Sorry to hear about your Uncle. That is always hard.Wow 10 grandchildren. I bet they love their Granpa.Don't work too hard.

     
  8. Mel

    August 25, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks, Jody, hearing from you means a lot too me. Yea, all grandchildren are special! Mine just happens to be (10) of them. When I make it through this stretch of tough times, I am going fishing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
