RSS

FISHING UNDER THE BRIDGE

05 Aug

So not all of us are able to fish for and land big fish like Michelle did in my last post. That post has created a landslide of visitors, readers, and photo freaks to my blog. As such, Michele’s Idaho State Record Rainbow Trout and its story has really benefited Idaho Fishing Notebook. Thanks, Michelle!

One of my favorite type of fishing experiences are those that find me on small streams that are easily navigable by walking the bank or doing some non-serious wading to position myself in the stream. I enjoy the cold water lapping at my feet or pushing against my legs if I am wading. I want to concentrate on my fishing giving the fish my up most attention. It’s just me and the cool water and the fish. Fishing Nirvana! Big brawling rivers which are common out west don’t get a whole lot of my attention as I don’t own a drift boat or enjoy that type of fishing for that matter. I may miss some big trout, but, fishing is supposed to be enjoyment for me and that is what matters the most to me.

One of my favorite places to fish on smaller river, creeks, streams, etc. is the water that lays beneath a bridge that crosses the water and provides a change in the flow of the water and hiding spots in cool places for trout during the heat of summer. I have also spent many a rainy day fishing beneath the bridge cover when otherwise I would be getting soak and wet. Just a tip here: That happens to be a very productive time to be fishing under the bridge in my experience. For some reason the fish seem to turn on during that time.

Rainbows, Browns, Brookies, and Cutthroats all seem to enjoy laying in the pools and riffles under the bridge waiting for bait, lures or flies to be drifted to them. I enjoy fishing spinners like a Rooster Tail, Panther Martin, or Jake’s to these fish in my area. Gold or silver blades, Gold, White, or Yellow bodies seem to do the trick for me.

Here are a few photos of one of my favorite streams and a little success that I am talking about.

In this picture, notice the dark shaded area undrneath the bridge. This is where I would hang out.

This is my son, Matt, who has a firm grip on a Brown Trout that’s going home for the frying pan!

Ok, 98% of the fish we catch are released to swim another day. Every once in awhile a fish is kept for breakfast and the frying pan along with Hasbrowns and Eggs. Matt has this Brown Trout ready for the frying pan.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2009 in Fishing Eastern Idaho

 

6 responses to “FISHING UNDER THE BRIDGE

  1. Shoreman

    August 5, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Hey Mel. Interesting about the bridge. It's the first place I target when I'm fishing a small stream too. You certainly have all the why's of under the bridge correct. I'd like to spend more time at the streams, but it seems that lately, every time I go to one, there's somebody swimming in it. Mark

     
  2. Mel

    August 5, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I hear you, Shoreman, seems like hot weather and cold water seem to go hand in hand. Lots and lots of folks using our recreational waters for some matter. Kind of makes it tough on us ol' guys who just want to catch a fish or two.

     
  3. Fish Whisperer

    August 6, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I would love to fish a stream or babbling brook. Unfortunately there are few fresh water species here so I am stuck out in the ocean. Oh to use 4 lb line with little split shots again.Love to eat trout from cold water streams.Tight lines

     
  4. Wolfy

    August 7, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Mel – it's good to take some fish home for a meal periodically. I practice C&R almost exclusively, too, but the taste of fresh caught brookies is something that needs to be done at least annually. I think the adamnat C&R crowd gets a little too carried away sometimes, demandeing that everything be released. IMHOWolfy

     
  5. Mel

    August 8, 2009 at 10:43 am

    I hear you, Fish Whisperer, I love it too! Then again, I wouldn't mind some fishing down your way. Maybe some day.

     
  6. Mel

    August 8, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Hi Wolfy – Thanks for sharing your opinion. I definitely agree with your thinking there. Too far taken by the practitioners of C&R led me away from some extreme ends of the sport of fishing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
