RSS

HOW COME MY FEET AREN’T THE SAME SIZE?

15 Jul

I really enjoy wearing sandals as long as I can every year from early in the spring of the season to as late in the fall as I can get away with here in Eastern Idaho. Sandals can be dressy or casual, lightweight and well made, and, just plain comfortable to wear. That is the easy part.

This post is about the hard part! I get so frustrated going to various local stores when I am on the search for new sandals. Here is the reason why. Sandals, not any differently I guess from dress shoes or boots for that matter, seem to be manufactured to very un-uniform standards. Not to go off on a tangent here, but, the issue that I will write about in this post is sandal foot size. In this case, I am not talking about width size, even though that can be a problem too!

I am talking about the actual marked foot size on the sandal. Yesterday I went Sandal shopping to purchase a new pair. Never enough, you know! My standard size is 81/2 to nine. Once I purchased a pair that was even labeled a size 10 – 11. Anyway, once I found some styles I liked came the actual trying them on. Good ol’ 81/2 to 9 right? Nope, the style I liked made me look silly in that size. My toes came nowhere near the end of the sandal. How could that be? Had my feet shrunk and wrinkled with age?

After trying on a number of styles and sizes I ended up purchasing a pair of size 71/2 sandals. That’s right, 71/2! What’s up with that. A more expensive pair in another brand had me in a 91/2 to fit right. Now I am totally confused. Here is my problem.

I want to buy a pair of wading sandals so I can do a little wet wading in some smaller streams and rivers in my area. I might like to purchase from Cabela’s or some other online dealer who has what I want at the right price. However, with shoe sizing apparently not standard, how can I purchase online? More than likely they may not fit and I have to go through the return routine. I am in a quandry here.

Sorry for the rant here, but, I would be interested in the thoughts of my readers. Thanks, as always, for reading and look forward to your comments.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2009 in Fishing And Outoor Product Reviews

 

10 responses to “HOW COME MY FEET AREN’T THE SAME SIZE?

  1. Shoreman

    July 16, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Afternoon Mel. My wife does a lot of online shopping. When she finds a top or pants she likes, she buys one in each of the colors. When she gets them, she compares one to the next. Inevitably (thank you Merriam-Webster), one will be bigger or smaller than the rest. I think the problem is mass production and probably a little mis-marking thrown in. I guess it just goes to show, nothing is consistant any more.

     
  2. Fish Whisperer

    July 17, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Mel, Every since I was a little boy I have had really wide feet. My choice in shoes has always been limited to one or two brands and only a couple of styles. One of those brands is New Balance, as they come in widths. The other day I bought online, a pair of water/boat shoes from them as well as a pair of walking shoes. The water shoes are about two sizes too small. Returning them is literally out of the question as I am in Fiji and the cost would make it the most expensive pair ever. So I wear flip flops.I changed your link. Sorry about that.Tight lines

     
  3. Clif

    July 17, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I clicked on this link expecting to read about righty being a 10 and lefty being an 8.I guess it can be worse.

     
  4. Mel

    July 17, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Shoreman – I hear you there about both mass marketing and quality assurance! At least your wife has the will to shop online for clothing. I think I will keep looking locally.Fish Whisperer – That is tough way to go when ordering online from Fiji! Sorry to hear your experience is something like mine. Glad to have you re-linked. Thanks for the help.Clif – Thanks for having a sense of humor about this. Your comment made me laugh and that is good for my soul.

     
  5. The Hunter's Wife

    July 20, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Mel, I guess you can always send them back if they don't fit right. And for the love of a big foot, my feet are bigger.

     
  6. Mel

    July 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Jody – Your right, I can always send them back. Just hate the hassle. Where I end up getting them, and, what hassles I have to go through will probably depend on what kind of "crush" I have on the specific pair of Sandals in question. Somehow I just can't imagine you having big feet. Mine are just the right size for my mouth. Tee Hee!

     
  7. The Fisherbabe

    July 21, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hey Mel!!! I have bought women's sandals at Cabelas (as you know its my favorite store) and I tend to always be a size 9. I usually wear 8.5's in everything else…but in Sandals at Cabelas no matter the brand. I am a 9…however, I think that just ordering what you like in your normal size would be the way to go understanding that you might have to return them. I suggest getting our foot remeasured as our feet do change with time and years. You can usually do this at any department store or shoe store and I always have mine remeasured before ordering footwear online. Happy Shopping (my second favorite sport…lol)LIZZY

     
  8. Paul Steeve

    July 22, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Shoe shopping itself seems like an adventure most of the time. All brands size differently. Sometimes I'm a 12…others are 13. Online shopping tends to be easy for me, though. I always buy the 13 and it always fits. I always say they are better to be a little big than a little small.

     
  9. CDGardens

    July 23, 2009 at 6:26 am

    There are just some things that might warrant a trip to the Sport's Store(Cabela's) to checkout. Then the next time when you narrow down brand etc…you could order online.I too hate the hassle of returns…the cost of postage and restocking fees in most situations. 😉

     
  10. Mel

    July 23, 2009 at 9:51 am

    FisherBabe – Hey, thanks for the suggestions. Good advice never hurts anyone. Appreciate the Cabela's suggestion.Paul – Good advice also! You are right to order a little on the big size than too order to small. We'll see when I purchase.CDGardens – I couldn't agree with you more. I would love to have this warrant a trip to Cabela's. Except I have to convince my wife it is worth the 3-4 hour drive it takes to get there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
